IT Advisory Board


The Information Technology Advisory Board shall serve to advise the Chief Information Officer, and other senior officers as appropriate, on resources and priorities concerning all aspects of computing, information management, and communication technology. The Information-Technology Advisory Board shall review and make recommendations concerning the University's planning and implementation of plans for current and proposed computing and information technologies. The Board shall review and make recommendations with regard to policies consistent with the goals and objectives of the University for the proper use of computing resources by faculty, staff, and students. Its goals include the enhancement of the faculty and student academic environment through the effective use of computing and communication technology, including appropriate computing, information, and communication support for teaching and research. The Information-Technology Advisory Board shall also be a source of input and feedback regarding matters of administrative computing, communication, and information technology needs and requirements.


The members shall consist of the Chief Information Officer, six faculty members representative of academic grouping as listed in Section 12, II, whenever possible, two staff members, two undergraduates, two graduate students, and one medical student. Faculty members shall serve staggered three-year terms. Staff and student members shall serve staggered two-year terms. The University Librarian and Director of the Center for computation and visualization shall be ex-officio members

Chair and Staffing

The Board Chair shall be the Chief Information Officer. The Vice Chair shall be a faculty member who is elected by the board at the end of his/her first year of service and shall serve as such for one academic year. The Board shall be staffed by the Office of the Chief Information Officer.


An Executive Committee, consisting of the Chair and Vice Chair, shall set the agenda for Board meetings. The Board should meet at least once a month during the academic year. The Board shall report annually in writing to the Faculty. The report is to be given by the Vice Chair or, in his/her absence, by the Chair.

Appointment of Members

Faculty members will be appointed by the Chief Information Officer with advice from the Committee on Nominations. Staff members will be appointed by the Chief Information Officer with advice from the Staff Advisory Committee (SAC). Student members will be appointed by the Chief Information Officer with advice from the appropriate student government. At least one undergraduate member shall be chosen from the membership of the committee on computing of the Undergraduate Council of Students (UCS), if such a committee exists.

Current Members (2017-2018)

  • Bill Thirsk (chair), Chief Digital Officer and Chief Information Officer
  • John Spadaro, Deputy Chief Information Officer
  • J. Rod Beresford (co-chair), Faculty
  • Catherine Axe, Faculty
  • Laurel Bestock, Faculty
  • Mark Dieterich, Staff
  • Nora Dimmock, Staff
  • Dan Ebner, Medical Student
  • Geoffrey Greene, Staff
  • Cole Hansen, Undergraduate Student
  • Jeff Hiris, Staff
  • Shriram Krishnamurthi, Faculty
  • James Kuzner, Faculty
  • Laura Lark, Graduate Student
  • Ashley Lee, Undergraduate Student
  • Elliot Lehrer, Undergraduate Student
  • Monica Martinez, Faculty
  • Paul Myoda, Faculty
  • Stephanie Obodda, Staff
  • Ilker Ozden, Faculty
  • Dylan Sam, Undergraduate Student
  • Neil Sarkar, Faculty
  • John Styer, Staff
  • Kurt Teichert, Faculty
  • Tim Wells, Staff
  • Darlene Williamson, Staff
  • Linnea Wolfe, Staff
  • Catherine Zabriskie, Staff
  • Yang Zhang, Graduate Student