Widespread Email Scam: Fake Google Sharing Emails

We are aware of a widespread scam of what appear to be Google Drive sharing notices. See the end of this posting for an example screenshot. You may have received this email from people you know at Brown whose accounts are compromised. If you opened the email but did not click anything, you don't need to worry. Just delete the email(s). 

However, if you clicked the "Open in Docs" button, additional scam emails will be sent to all of your contacts. Here's what you need to do:

Change your password
You can either change your password in Brown's MyAccount or in Gmail. The following instructions are for Gmail: 

  1. In Gmail, click your user icon on the top right.
  2. Click the My Account button.
  3. Click "Signing in to Google" under "Sign in & Security" on the left.
  4. Click "Password," then follow the prompts to change your password. 

Revoke access to a fake app called "Google Docs" 
After changing your password and logging back in, follow these instructions to remove a fake app that now has access to your account:

  1. In Gmail, click your user icon on the top right.
  2. Click the My Account button.
  3. Under "Sign in & Security" on the left, click "Connected Apps & Sites." 
  4. Look for an app called "Google Docs" - it is fake! Click "Google Docs" and click the Remove button that appears.

Sample Email

 

Phishing
Phishing Email (on campus)

Written by pfalcon@brown.edu on